Skip to content

The Celery Attack

March 28, 2011

The dorm at Western Water Group houses a kitchen and employs a woman who cooks lunch and dinner every weekday for the employees. Usually she does about three dishes and a soup, but often the dishes are not suited to my taste buds, bu xiguan, and they are extremely spicy, extremely sour and/or mostly fat (if it’s a meat dish). So I often find myself eating one or maybe two of the dishes, and trying to fill up on rice.

Well, a couple of weeks ago, one of the dishes that I could tolerate was a celery dish, and because I don’t like most of the other dishes available, I ate a lot of it. At about three in the morning, I woke up because I was scratching myself so hard that I was leaving marks on my skin. I was itching all over. It was awful, I got up to close all of my windows and turned on all of the lights to try and kill mosquitos, but I couldn’t find any. I turned off the lights and tried to go to sleep, curled up in the fetal position, trying to prevent any parts of my body from sticking out from under the covers. I kept hearing (in my head?) mosquitos buzzing around my face. I didn’t fall asleep for three and a half four hours.

The next day I showed my massive rash all over my skin to one of the workers at the plant. She replied, Oh that’s very common, hen zhengchang. Don’t worry about it, it will go away soon, it’s from the celery we had to eat last night.

Then I asked, why do you continue to eat the celery, if people are allergic to it?

It tastes good.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 20:31

    Wow. So how did the celery cause that? Is that normal, or something to do with the specific stuff that’s used there?

  2. Tim Quijano permalink*
    March 30, 2011 13:20

    Apparently it’s a certain species of celery that is eaten in this area. It causes worse reactions in some people.

    • March 30, 2011 19:36

      Man. So will you dare to eat it again?

      • Tim Quijano permalink*
        March 30, 2011 21:30

        No way! One day was miserable enough.

  3. Master Unnamed permalink
    April 14, 2011 14:38

    3dishes+1soup-1sour-1spicy-1allergic=1soup, +unlimited rice
    soup rice,soup rice,Man…

Trackbacks

  1. Chunky Celery Soup | Alison Amazed

Leave a Reply

