Skip to content

Bamboo boat, bamboo pole

January 4, 2011
Bamboo boat, bamboo pole, originally uploaded by timquijano.

I have posted pictures from my weekend in Yangshuo during the Christmas holiday. Click here for the link to the set on Flickr.

UPDATE: I just remembered a funny story from my trip that I haven’t shared with anyone.  As I was getting into Yangshuo at about 10pm the first night of my break, I asked a fruit vendor for directions to the hostel I was recommended. After receiving directions to continue straight ahead, he continued with the standard Chinese questions asked about a foreigner, before proceding to offer me a massage and a xiaojie.  While xiaojie literally translates to Miss, it also is used to refer to prostitutes.  Perhaps a lot of (foreign) guys that travel to Yangshuo alone take him up on the deal for a prostitute, I don’t know, but I can’t remember ever being offered a prostitute like this.  Through the rest of my trip I witnessed no other instances of prostitution.   The city was incredibly clean and well-policed, which I can only assume is because so many rich Chinese and foreign tourists flock there. This is stark comparison with Nanning where you can walk 5 minutes out of the main university gate and see prostitutes advertise themselves on a main thoroughfare.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

