Skip to content

Interesting chinese phrases-small three

December 9, 2010

This is the second post in a series describing interesting Chinese phrases that I come across in my daily life.

In the past month or two I have been increasingly sharing my knowledge of Chinese to my students. I began strictly following the administration’s rule demanding that teachers not use Chinese in instruction, but I have found that my students’ limited vocabulary often makes this difficult. Many of my students get lost in my description of words. Thus, I have fallen into a pattern when an unknown word is encountered. First, give a description or example in English, then follow up with the Chinese equivalent. This also serves to keep the students’ interest, as all Chinese people are fascinated by foreigners being able to speak Chinese.

Little did I know that I would unleash a trend that would spread across the student body like wildfire. “Teem, how do you say ___ in English?” I am now a walking Chinese to English dictionary.

Recently, I asked my students to come up with dialogues to present to the class using a few words from the “Dating” chapter vocabulary list. One student asked,

Tim, how to use [sic] English to say С

С, literally translates to “small three.” This refers to someone who comes into an established romantic relationship. According to my dictionary,

somebody who is romantically involved with somebody already in a committed relationship

One Comment leave one →
  1. peter permalink
    December 12, 2010 13:52

    thats awesome that that concept exists in chinese.

Leave a Reply

