Skip to content

Some bike love in the New York Times

November 14, 2010

A travel article in the New York Times describes the Frugal Traveler’s trip in Los Angeles.  He decided to do the trip on $100 per day, which encouraged him to rent a bike not a car.  The article itself, is actually pretty awful, but his conclusion describes something that every bike commuter knows, but few others have realized.

To be honest, I had expected getting around Los Angeles by bike and public transportation to be a barely tolerable chore a money-saving second-best way to see the city. Why, then, was I feeling so elated about my trip and smitten by a city I had never particularly liked before? …What I had really liked were the moments in between: the strangers who shared secrets on the buses, the dog walkers and Dutch tourists who stopped to chat with me along Rodeo Drive, the aspiring actor I struck up a conversation with on Santa Monica Boulevard, as he cycled to an audition and I cycled to pick up my U.C.L.A. football ticket. These were true Los Angeles moments moments that most visitors, stuck in freeway traffic behind the steering wheel of their rental car, never get to experience. Or, at most, happen only when they stop their car at a taco or banh mi truck.

Thank you Frugal Traveler. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

