Skip to content

More student responses

November 14, 2010

The essays below were written in response to the promt, “if I could be an animal, I would be a….” With these responses as well I was very surprised by the content.  Several themes are very evident in their writing.  First, they have a lot of pressure on them and are subject to a lot of criticism from others.  Second, they feel very trapped and yearn for travel and adventure.  Third, they are quick to critique human society.  Again, I have left the errors in their writing.

First, pressure and criticism

“If I could be an animal, I would be a penguin…. When I feel bored about my life in the southpole, i will have travel to the northpole to visit my friend polar bear. On my travling to the northpole, I go aross half of the earth, have some exotic food. I also wonder how I feel when I arrive in a tropical state. Don’t you think it is fascinate. Beacause I am a penguin, I can not understand what human beings say. I don’t need to listen to something about a person hates me or feel that I am rude. Nobody will tell me, you make so many mistakes. I don’t like you. I am a penguin, just a little penguin. I don’t know what you say. Don’t tell me anything I don’t listen to. Don’t make me cry.”

“If I could be an animal, I would be a butterfly…. In spring, a hundred flowers bloom. I can dance in and out of the flower. Everybody will be addicted to me. Children like to play with me. Happiness share with everyone. The sky is my home. Opening the wings, I can fly to every corner in the world. It’s so exciting. Homework, jobs, housework and so on will be thrown away.”

Second, lack of freedom

“If I could be an animal, I would be a bird…. As the saying goes, a bird which get up early will have bugs to eat. I think birds are the most freedom animal, they needn’t to think and do anything if they don’t like it so that is why I want to be a bird.”

“If I could be an animal, I would be a cat…. Be a homeless cat is freedom enough, but if a pet cat there are still some benefits.”

“If I could be an animal, I would be a fish…. I can swim in the sea freely. I can follow the boat, and listen the music from boat, and see the people dance on the boat.”

Third, critizing society such as human’s poor treatment of the environment and selfishness

“If I could be an animal, I would be a tiger….I don’t like human being’s lifestyle. People just know how to make themselves be better, be strong, destroy the whole world, that’s very selfish. If I could be an animal, could change my ability, I don’t want to rely on my parents, I just want to be a tiger, can live by myself, don’t need to face to this bad society’s rules.”

“Dolphin don’t worry about exams or homework. Dolphin will not destroy the nature like what human have done. They are friend to each other. They will not do the things which may let others feel heartbreaking.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

